Welcome to Pat's weekly report.

Thursday 20th sees the Murphy Cup Final being played at the Grapes Inn, starting at 7.00pm. With Pavilions A having to give Hazel Pear 15 points handicap start. It might prove to be a big challenge for the Pavilions team with Hazel Pear defeating last years Champions Norley in the semi-final. So it is all set up for a close encounter on the night.


Back to the league front where Tuesdays weather turned against local bowlers again and made it difficult for many teams to play. Many games were cancelled, with flooded greens or unsafe conditions to play. Of the few that were played, a couple of teams struggled to get a full team out and it was reflected in their teams total score on the night. On the night Section One managed to play a very impressive four matches. With Norley 163-109 winners at home against just six players from Hazel Pear, who all did really well, with them all scoring double figures. Kevin Duncalf being the best winner 21-14 for Norley. Connell Redmond was the only winner for the away team winning 21-16. Another away team who travelled with just six players on the night were Kingswood B who lost at Kingsley A 150-106. Mick Clay was Kingsleys best winner 21-07 on the night. With Stuart Matthias replying with a 21-09 win. Also on the night, Pavilions A beat Grapes 161-95 and had seven winners. The best winners being Graham Oliver 21-05, Chris Price 21-06 and Bobby Johnston 21-09. Grapes winner was the ever reliable George Gibson winning 21-14. The other Section one game played was at Manley who beat near neighbours Helsby A by 143-121. Manley had Joan Southerton 21-07, along with two players winning 21-08, namely Dave Orr and Gary Spencer making the difference. Best replies for Helsby, both winning 21-12 were Steve Marks and Colin Wass, along with Captain Graham White 21-14 making up Helsbys three winners.

Into Section three, where Crowton won at home 149-132 against Grapes ABC Taxis. In what turned out to be an excellent game in challenging conditions. With all players scoring double figures that was reflected in the team totals. Crowtons best winner was Peter Winnington 21-10 and Grapes best reply came from Lea Davies also 21-10. Probably the most comfortable winner on the night with the awful playing conditions was Chris Flood 21-13! Another week where so many have braved the weather and proved just how good some of the greensmen are in the area in keeping our greens open for playing. Well done to you all again.